Report: 2nds v Ventnor (H), Sat. 18 Mar. 2017

IW II 29-0 Ventnor II

Isle of Wight RFC’s second team were eventual comprehensive winners in a local derby friendly at Wootton Rec. A forgettable first half was close on the scoreboard, but IW pulled away in the second period.

The opening 40 minutes provided little entertainment for the spectators, as repeated infringements and the referee’s whistle dominated proceedings. This did not suit IW who fielded quite a young side and wanted to play the game at more pace, but they did have the better of possession and the penalty count, forcing Ventnor to defend. However, IW were also guilty of many errors and trying to force the play too much. All of this restricted them to one try, scored by livewire scrum-half Sam Spencer-Brading who would earn the joint man of the match award. IW led 5-0 at half-time.

IW now had wind advantage, and while the stalemate persisted for the early minutes of the second half, they slowly and surely resumed dominance. The forwards generated quicker ball, with joint man of the match Andi Raunigger standing out, giving the backs possession which they had lacked earlier on. A lengthy spell of pressure was rewarded when IW’s dominant scrum set up the platform for a dynamic carry by captain Tim Greedy, who crashed over. George Huish converted, and soon added a try of his own to effectively put the game to bed.

The last quarter was one-way traffic, with the exception of one Ventnor flurry when they seemed likely to score but IW defence held out. The two best scores of the day ensued, as offloads now went to hand and gaps appeared to exploit. Firstly, a sweeping move involving many players was finished off by wing Chris Ormerod, converted by Ricky Keyes. Then, the impressive David Blackman started and finished a try from near IW’s line, with no little help from Tom Marriott. IW were pleased with the result, and a more fluent second half performance. The age profile of the current second team squad hints at promising times ahead for the club.

IW: Blackman, Webster, McQueen, Peters, Ormerod, Huish, Spencer-Brading, Tanner, Keyes, Tombleson, Raunigger, D Bishop, Kearney, A Wright, Greedy ©. Replacements: J Bishop, G Smith, Jones, White, Marriott, A Smith.