Report: 1sts v Petersfield (H), Sat. 21 Nov. 2015

IW 57 Petersfield 10

Long awaited and well deserved, was the conclusion to IWRFC 1st XV’s first league win  of the season. In scoring seven tries, the home side dominated the scoring, if not all aspects of the game. In fact for much of the game they struggled at the scrummage. This was evident early on as Petersfield applied pressure, chipping over the Island defence to score.
This seemed to galvanise the home side who struck back with a Harry Dye penalty, starting off an excellent kicking day for Dye in windy and inconsistent weather. Further home pressure from a kick and chase saw ball recycled for Ryan Stewart to score, Dye adding the kick, followed by another penalty.
But now the Island were driving inroads in the Petersfield defence and threatening with each attack, despite the continued scrummage problems. Another kick and chase resulted in a turn over; Andy Brown drove forward and recycled ball went wide for Neil Brading to score.
A determined start to the second half pinned the visitors back and Dan Stirrup stepped through their defence to reach out and score, Dye adding the kick. With good lineout ball the pressure continued and a further drive saw Stewart claim his second try. Back came Petersfield and from a driving line, a gap was seized on by their scrum half to score.
Again the Island used this as motivation. Dye now scored and converted before a turn over at a reinvigorated Island scrum saw Brett Evans touch down. It was Evans who scored the final try, in a characteristic break from the scrum and pace and power seeing him in from seventy yards. Dye brought up the 50 with the final kick from wide out.
Performances were impressive from many of the side, with the bench all making effective contributions, but outstanding and a constant focus for the forwards was Rouse Intelligent Financial Solutions Man of the Match Dan Tennant.
IWRFC: D Stirrup, M Wood, N Brading, M Vann, A Rann, H Dye, B Evans, R Stewart, E Lynch, A Hay, A Brown, R Freeman, M Newnham, D Tennant, D Tanner, O Boulter, A Raunigger, G Huish.